WTO GPA2019-01-02T15:20:29+03:00

WTO Agreement on Government Procurement
The revised World Trade Organisation’s Agreement on Government Procurement (the “GPA”) is a “plurilateral” agreement within the framework of the WTO, meaning that not all WTO members are parties to the Agreement.

The fundamental aim of the GPA is to mutually open public procurement markets among its parties. The total procurement market is currently estimated to be worth around USD 1.7 trillion (US dollars) annually to international competition (i.e. to suppliers from GPA parties offering goods, services or construction services).

Current parties to the GPA are Armenia; Canada; the European Union (covering its 28 Member States: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Romania and Croatia); Hong Kong, China; Iceland; Israel; Japan; Republic of Korea; Liechtenstein; Republic of Moldova; Montenegro; the Kingdom of the Netherlands with respect to Aruba; New Zealand; Norway; Singapore; Switzerland; Chinese Taipei; Ukraine and the United States.
The GPA will take effect for Ukraine on 18 May 2016.

Suppliers from the GPA Parties may participate in Ukrainian government procurement’s through the electronic procurement platform “Zakupki UA”.

Links to the revised Agreement on Government Procurement are below:
Revised GPA Text (in English)
Revised GPA Text (in Ukrainian)

Defines the coverage of each GPA Party’s obligations under the revised GPA

Under the revised GPA, the schedule of Ukraine (as well as of each GPA Party) contains seven annexes:

Annex 1: central government entities
Annex 2: sub-central government entities
Annex 3: other entities
Annex 4: goods
Annex 5: services
Annex 6: construction services
Annex 7: general notes.